Get a Quilt Group!

Joining, or forming, a group of quilters is a great way to make friends, learn skills, enjoy mutual support, and have fun.  

This little wreath was made as part of a guild program several years ago

This little wreath was made as part of a guild program several years ago

I’ve moved often, and have found that joining a quilt group is one of the best ways to find interesting friends in a new place.  It’s also a great way to find friends even if you never move!  I’ve met a lot of interesting women (and a few men) who never would have crossed my path if I hadn’t joined with other quilters.

A friend and I taught ourselves to quilt from Lesley Linsley’s original Weekend Quilt book, but there was so much more to learn when I met other quilters!  Quilting friends have taught me new techniques and gone with me to classes where we got new ideas.  Quilt guild programs and “show and tell” have been invaluable in expanding my skills and ideas.

The rest of these pictures are from a current block exchange with one of my groups

The rest of these pictures are from a current block exchange with one of my groups

I belong to multiple quilt groups, and I have supportive friends in each of them.  One of my best friends formed a very small group (4 members).  We do a retreat together twice a year where we make quilts and talk about our lives.  Much is accomplished in several ways!  I don’t know about the others, but I consider the mutual support of these women one of the things that keeps me sane.

If you’ve been hesitant to join a quilting group, now is the time to “just do it”!  A quilt shop can direct you to local groups and you’ll learn about others from

Needle-turn applique by my friend Jerri!

Needle-turn applique by my friend Jerri!

there.  You can find the nearest Modern Quilt Guild by looking on the national Modern Quilt Guild webs

Design from a Craftsy BOM (Block of the Month) class

Design from a Craftsy BOM (Block of the Month) class

ite.  Have fun!P1000621

Design from a Craftsy BOM class

Design from a Craftsy BOM class

P1000611

Another swap block by a friend

P1000613

One thought on “Get a Quilt Group!

  1. Thinking of joining one, even though my quilting abilities are limited…..it sure would be fun! Thanks for the insipiation!

Leave a Reply

