Improving My Quilt Pix

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another version of “Turning Twenty Again”, this time with my improvisational border

So, this is what a typical picture of one of my quilts has looked like in the past:  Yes, that’s my husband’s head, and the edge of the rug in the TV room…well, you get the idea.  And in fairness, most of these pictures were taken years before I ever thought of having a blog and publishing them.  Let’s just say they’re less than perfect!

Since I started the blog, I’ve tried to improve the old pictures with editing software.  Most of the quilts are long gone to friends, customers, or both, so I don’t have the originals to make new photographs.  After photo editing, the quilts were a bit easier to see, but the photos still weren’t exactly professional looking!  See below.

This is a slight variation on Birthday Presents, by Atkinson Designs; it made a great baby quilt

This is a slight variation on Birthday Presents, by Atkinson Designs; it made a great baby quilt

I looked at a LOT of quilt pics on Flickr; most weren’t any better than mine.  I looked at books and catalogs.  The best quilt portraits I found were in the Keepsake Quilting catalog.  They showed the quilts in nice settings, not just a straight-on picture of the quilt.  I like this approach because it shows the mood of the quilt, not just the design.

Concentric Squares Batik

I love batiks and love making variations on concentric squares, so I enjoyed making this quilt

I started trying to make better “quilt portraits”, showing more than just a straight-on shot of the quilt.  I’ve found that a picture taken with the recipient is very nice.  This next picture was sent to me by a friend who bought one of my quilts as a gift.  Although it is clearly a snapshot rather than a professional photo, I think it does a nice job of being a portrait of the quilt (and the recipient).  It has personality, which is lacking in the straight-on shots even if they show the whole quilt better.

I’m off to make some quilt portraits of my own, having learned a thing or two that I hope will improve the shots for my blog.  Check back next week and see what you think of my “quilt portraits”.

2 thoughts on “Improving My Quilt Pix

  1. I think good pictures of quilts are rare. I know some bloggers manage to do well at it consistently. I also sometimes wonder if their “popularity” as quilters rests more on their photography than on their quilts. (Sounds nastier than I mean it.) My husband and I have tried different variations trying to get good pix. I think there is value in straight-ahead shots, but yes, seeing the quilt in setting is more interesting a lot of the time.

    Thanks for the post, late as I am in reading it. More things to think about…

  2. Rita at Red Pepper Quilts does better pix than anybody, I think. I end up wanting to imitate her quilts when I see the pix. Now that I think of it, I’m going to hop over there & suggest she do a tutorial.

Leave a Reply

