The year so far…

Oops!  It’s the end of June already, so half way through 2014!  Therefore, here are pictures of a few of the things I’ve done so far:

scrap quilt

Quilt Alliance Challenge 2014

Dotty-Stripes-Detail

Detail of a quilt I submitted to an IQF contest

Next is the June “finish”.  I’ve been sending a finish every month to Aunt Marti at 52quilts because I need the motivation of her challenge to get some of my UFOs (Unfinished Objects) cleaned up!  As you can see, this is pieced but not quilted; Aunt Marti let’s YOU decide what qualifies as “finished”!  And after 2 years staring at these HSTs (half square triangles), I think putting them together into a top for a donation quilt qualifies as “finished”!  So if you need motivation to finish some of your UFOs, click the link above and head over to her blog 🙂

pieced quilt top

Donation quilt top is the finish for June!

improvisationally pieced quilt

In Fairyland, entered in the Vermont Quilt Festival

improv pieced quilt

Improv 9 Patch for Ronald McDonald House

As always, 20% of the projects took 80% of the time!  So it’s good to have the little pouches and swap blocks to be done relatively quickly!  What have you been up to?

4 thoughts on “The year so far…

  1. Mary, your June Twelve in 2014 was part of a HST swap? I coordinated a similar swap with a bunch of quilters recently and I’m just now using my blocks for a workshop I’ll be taking with Bonnie Hunter in October. Our swap was 5″ neutrals/darks. I cut my 5″ blocks that were shades of blue into two 2.5″. Yeah! There will certainly be a project coming my way to use up the remaining HSTs. Enjoy your year so far projects. Sandi

    • Yes, a swap, intended to use up our scraps. Originally inspired by Edyta Sitar’s book Friendship Triangles, and that is where I got the center layout. Thanks for commenting!

  2. Pingback: Year End Review | Zippy Quilts

Leave a Reply

